Mallarmé – Chamber Music of 1869

Durham 150 Grantee

DURHAM @ 150

Mallarmé will present a concert of chamber music that could have been heard in 1869, the year of Durham’s founding. These works would have all been considered new music of the time, scored for violin, piano and horn. the program will include music of Johannes Brahms, Robert Schumann, Edvard Grieg and American composer, Louis Moreau Gottschalk.

The concert will take place on Sunday, September 8, 2019 at 3 pm. Artists include violinist Jennifer Curtis, pianist Mimi Solomon, horn players Chris Caudill and Rachel Niketopoulos.

In addition to the performance, Mallarmé will offer a free and open to the public, open rehearsal on Friday, Sept 6, in the afternoon in downtown Durham at the Durham Arts Council.

The Brahms Horn Trio will be performed by Rachel Niketopoulos (NC Symphony) on a historical, valve-less horn as specified by Brahms, but is rarely performed this way.

Gottschalk’s piano works, performed by Mimi Solomon, are derived from traditional “Negro and Creole folk melodies” reflecting his southern roots (he was born in New Orleans), including pieces like The Banjo, Mexican Sketch,  and Ballade Créole.

This concert will open Mallarmé’s 2019-20 concert season and will be the first of 5 series concerts presented throughout the season.


Sep 08 2019


3:00 pm


Durham Arts Council
120 Morris St, Durham, NC 27701


More Info

Comments are closed.